Brass City Charter School

Academic Staff 

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

Barbara Ruggiero, PhD, a founder of Brass City Charter School whose varied career demonstrates a lifelong commitment to children’s academic success, comes most recently from Children’s Community School, where she acted as Executive Director/Principal, and before that from Chase Collegiate School. Dr. Ruggiero is a former licensed child psychologist and an experienced school leader with curricular , personnel, community relations, budget, management and fundraising experience. She has a master’s degree from Harvard University and a doctorate from Boston University.  

Email: bruggiero@brasscitycharter.org

PRINCIPAL

Jeanine Pocoski  joined Brass City Charter School from Achievement First. Her essential responsibility is to lead the effort to cultivate a high-achievement academic environment at BCCS. Mrs. Pocoski worked in Hartford as a K-2 dean for two years, and prior to that she was a 5-6 dean in Bridgeport. Before joining Achievement First, Mrs. Pocoski worked as a literacy consultant in Southington and a 5th-grade teacher in Wolcott. She has a master's in elementary education with a certificate in remedial reading and a sixth year in educational administration.

Email: jpocoski@brasscitycharter.org

DIRECTOR OF OPERATIONS

Nancy Landona, a founder of Brass City Charter School, has had a varied career in grant writing, volunteer coordination, bookkeeping, teaching, curriculum writing, and much more. She earned a degree in early childhood education from Southern CT State University and MEd in instructional design from Western Governor's University.
Email: nlandona@brasscitycharter.org

STUDENT AND PARENT SUPPORT COORDINATOR

Danielle Gaynor oversees the social-emotional program at BCCS. In addition, she  supports and encourages parental involvement in the life of the school. 
Email:dgaynor@brasscitycharter.org

OFFICE COORDINATOR

Sylvia Montes: The first person who greets you when you visit the school, Ms. Sylvia is the best source of answers for any questions your family might have. She relays information between school personnel and parents both in the office and on the phone.
Email: smontes@brasscitycharter.org

PRE-K 

Emily Bees, Teacher, ebees@brasscitycharter.org
                     Co Teacher

Jenna Levitt, Teacherjlevitt@brasscitycharter.org
                     Co Teacher

Lynn Wilczewski, Floater

KINDERGARTEN 

Heidi Kossakowski, Teacher, hkossakowski@brasscitycharter.org
                                , Assistant Teacher

Melissa Gibran, Teacher, mgibran@brasscitycharter.org 
Olga Morejon, Assistant Teacher  

1ST-GRADE 

Jillian Pizzo, Teacher, jpizzo@brasscitycharter.org
Cecilia Hammer, Assistant Teacher

Sara Naber, Teacher, snaber@brasscitycharter.org
Pauline Manley, Assistant Teacher

2ND-GRADE TEACHERS

Carrie Scalzo,cscalzo@brasscitycharter.org

Jamie Burnop, jburnop@brasscitycharter.org  

3RD-GRADE TEACHERS

Lori Corbett, lcorbett@brasscitycharter.org 

Christina Cruz, ccruzireland@brasscitycharter.org

4TH-GRADE TEACHERS

Jessica Zenowitz, jzenowitz@brasscitycharter.org

Mary Machado, mmachado@brasscitycharter.org

Becca Caravello, bcaravello@brasscitycharter.org


ART 

Kelly Richnavsky, krichnavsky@brasscitycharter.org 

PHYSICAL EDUCATION 

Kenneth Engelhard,  kengelhard@brasscitycharter.org

MUSIC

Tina Hadari, thadari@brasscitycharter.org

Netta Hadari

SCIENCE 

Courtney Bauknecht, cbauknecht@brasscitycharter.org

TECHNOLOGY

Marissa Morin

INTERVENTION TEAM

Erica Pandolfi
Amber Armack

Annette Cassullo

BUILDING SUBSTITUTE


Special Education Services and the School Nurse are provided by the City of Waterbury