Brass City Charter School

Academic Staff 

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

Barbara Ruggiero, Ph.D., a founder of Brass City Charter School whose varied career demonstrates a lifelong commitment to children’s academic success, comes most recently from Children’s Community School, where she acted as Executive Director/Principal, and before that from Chase Collegiate School. Dr. Ruggiero is a former licensed child psychologist and an experienced school leader with curricular, personnel, community relations, budget, management, and fundraising experience. She has a master’s degree from Harvard University and a doctorate from Boston University.  

Email: bruggiero@brasscitycharter.org

ACADEMIC DEANS

Katie Parente joined Brass City Charter School as an Academic Dean after ten years of teaching and administration at Achievement First. Mrs. Parente has spent her career in urban education dedicated to doing whatever it takes to ensure children have the necessary academic and character skills needed to thrive in today's world. Her belief that all children can and will succeed in life fuels her on a daily basis as she closes the achievement gap alongside her colleagues and with our students. With teachers, Mrs. Parente creates student achievement goals, analyzes student work, and coaches teachers to strengthen and refine their craft so that students can meet their goals. Email: kparente@brasscitycharter.org

Lily Zhao assumed the role of Academic Dean after teaching at BCCS in both 2nd and 3rd grade. Teaching first in Boston before coming to Waterbury, urban education has always been her passion. Ms. Zhao hopes to work with the staff and faculty to cultivate a rigorous and meaningful environment that will allow students to take risks, work hard, and achieve their goals. She has seen the limitless possibilities that students can reach when provided with high-quality opportunities and aims to foster that love of learning for students to take with them in Waterbury and beyond. She looks forward to continuing the incredible work, alongside teachers and students, which is happening at BCCS! Email: lzhao@brasscitycharter.org

CHIEF OPERATING OFFICER

Nancy Landona, a founder of Brass City Charter School, has had a varied career in grant writing, volunteer coordination, bookkeeping, teaching, curriculum writing, and much more. She earned a degree in early childhood education from Southern CT State University and MEd in instructional design from Western Governor's University.
Email: nlandona@brasscitycharter.org

Chevonne Rhoden, Operations Assistant
Lellis Santiago, Operations Assistant

DIRECTOR OF Student Culture and Family Engagement

Danielle Gaynor oversees the social-emotional program at BCCS. In addition, she supports and encourages parental involvement in the life of the school. 
Email:dgaynor@brasscitycharter.org

Marilyn Buckle, Student Support
Geoffrey Williams, Student Support

OFFICE COORDINATOR

Sylvia Montes: The first person who greets you when you visit the school, Ms. Sylvia is the best source of answers for any questions your family might have. She relays information between school personnel and parents both in the office and on the phone.
Email: smontes@brasscitycharter.org


PRE-K 

Emily Bees, Teacher, ebees@brasscitycharter.org
Julia Longo, Assistant Teacher

Jillian Pizzo, Teacher, jpizzo@brasscitycharter.org
Nadia Dennis, Assistant Teacher


Lynn Wilczewski, Floater


KINDERGARTEN


Laura Campagna, Teacher,  lcampagna@brasscitycharter.or
Mandi Dowjat, Assistant Teacher

Elese Montambault,  Teacher, emontambault@brasscitycharter.org
Jody Steinbach, Assistant Teacher

Haley Mitnick, Floater
 


1ST GRADE

Melissa Gibran, Teacher, 
mgibran@brasscitycharter.org
Latisha Crutchfield, Assistant Teacher


Sara Naber, Teacher, snaber@brasscitycharter.org
Jennifer Pacheco, Assistant Teacher

Jennifer Rodriguez, Teacher, jrodriguez
@brasscitycharter.org
Olga Morejon, Assistant Teacher


2ND GRADE TEACHERS

Sandra Davy, Teacher, sdavy@brasscitycharter.org


Laura Sergi, Teacher, lsergi@brasscitycharter.org
Nadira Dixon, Assistant Teacher

Olivia Tangredi, Teacher, otangredi@brasscitycharter.org 
Alexus Templeton,  Assistant Teacher

3RD-GRADE TEACHERS  

Becca Caravello,  bcaravello@brasscitycharter.org

Katherine Georgetti, kgeorgetti@brasscitycharter.org

Miranda Malizia, mmalizia@brasscitycharter.org


4TH-GRADE TEACHERS

Heather Barbuto, hbarbuto@brasscitycharter.org

Victoria Madu, vmadu@brasscitycharter.org

Madelyn O'Connell, moconnell@brasscitycharter.org



5TH-GRADE TEACHERS


Joanna Vann, jvann@brasscitycharter.org


6TH-GRADE TEACHERS

Kristin White,  kwhite@brasscitycharter.org

Jamie Murphy, jmurphy@brasscitycharter.org


7TH-GRADE TEACHERS

Jonathan Gotterer, jgotterer@brasscitycharter.org

Annabelle Jameson, ajameson@brasscitycharter.org

8TH-GRADE TEACHERS

Jason Burger, jburger@brasscitycharter.org

Samantha Daley,
sdaley@brasscitycharter.org


PHYSICAL EDUCATION
 

Kenneth Engelhard, kengelhard@brasscitycharter.org

MUSIC

Ralene Goff, rgoff@brasscitycharter.org

Chelsea Massey, cmassey@brasscitycharter.org

SCIENCE 

Courtney Bauknecht, cbauknecht@brasscitycharter.org

TECHNOLOGY

Marissa Morin, mmorin@brasscitycharter.org

INTERVENTION TEAM


Amber Armack, aarmack@brasscitycharter.org

Shaneik Duffs-Blair, sblair@brasscitycharter.org

Stephanie Creager, screager@brasscitycharter.org

Arthur LaBonte, alabonte@brasscitycharter.org

Carrie Scalzo, cscalzo@brasscitycharter.org


SUPPORT SERVICES

Cassandra Reilly, creilly@brasscitycharter.org

Martin Augelli, maugelli@brasscitycharter.org

Justin Cray, jcray@brasscitycharter.org



Select Special Education Services and School Nurse are provided by the City of Waterbury.