Brass City Charter School

Academic Staff 

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

Barbara Ruggiero, PhD, a founder of Brass City Charter School whose varied career demonstrates a lifelong commitment to children’s academic success, comes most recently from Children’s Community School, where she acted as Executive Director/Principal, and before that from Chase Collegiate School. Dr. Ruggiero is a former licensed child psychologist and an experienced school leader with curricular , personnel, community relations, budget, management and fundraising experience. She has a master’s degree from Harvard University and a doctorate from Boston University.  

Email: bruggiero@brasscitycharter.org

ACADEMIC DEANS

Katie Parente joined Brass City Charter School as an Academic Dean after ten years of teaching and administration at Achievement First. Mrs. Parente has spent her career in urban education dedicated to doing whatever it takes to ensure children have the necessary academic and character skills needed to thrive in today's world. Her belief that all children can and will succeed in life fuels her on a daily basis as she closes the achievement gap alongside her colleagues and with our students. With teachers, Mrs. Parente creates student achievement goals, analyzes student work, and coaches teachers to strengthen and refine their craft so that students can meet their goals. Email: kparente@brasscitycharter.org

Lily Zhao is stepping into the role of Academic Dean after teaching at BCCS in both 2nd and 3rd grade. First teaching in Boston before coming to Waterbury, urban education has always been her passion. Ms. Zhao hopes to work with the staff and faculty to cultivate a rigorous and meaningful environment that will allow students to take risks, work hard, and achieve their goals. She has seen the limitless possibilities that students can reach when provided with high-quality opportunities and aims to foster that love of learning for students to take with them in Waterbury and beyond. She looks forward to continuing the incredible work, alongside teachers and students, which is happening at BCCS! Email: lzhao@brasscitycharter.org

DIRECTOR OF OPERATIONS

Nancy Landona, a founder of Brass City Charter School, has had a varied career in grant writing, volunteer coordination, bookkeeping, teaching, curriculum writing, and much more. She earned a degree in early childhood education from Southern CT State University and MEd in instructional design from Western Governor's University.
Email: nlandona@brasscitycharter.org

STUDENT AND PARENT SUPPORT COORDINATOR

Danielle Gaynor oversees the social-emotional program at BCCS. In addition, she  supports and encourages parental involvement in the life of the school. 
Email:dgaynor@brasscitycharter.org

OFFICE COORDINATOR

Sylvia Montes: The first person who greets you when you visit the school, Ms. Sylvia is the best source of answers for any questions your family might have. She relays information between school personnel and parents both in the office and on the phone.
Email: smontes@brasscitycharter.org


PRE-K 

Emily Bees, Teacher, ebees@brasscitycharter.org
Julia Longo, Assistant Teacher

Jenna Levitt, Teacherjlevitt@brasscitycharter.org
Kristen Scheuermann, Assistant Teacher

Lynn Wilczewski, Floater

KINDERGARTEN 

Heidi Kossakowski, Teacher, hkossakowski@brasscitycharter.org
Jennifer Rodriguez, Assistant Teacher

Melissa Gibran, Teacher, mgibran@brasscitycharter.org 
Olga Morejon, Assistant Teacher (on leave, Catherine Shehan, substitute)

1ST-GRADE 

Jillian Pizzo, Teacher, jpizzo@brasscitycharter.org
Cecilia Hammer, Assistant Teacher

Sara Naber, Teacher, snaber@brasscitycharter.org
Pauline Manley, Assistant Teacher

2ND-GRADE TEACHERS

Carrie Scalzo,cscalzo@brasscitycharter.org

Jamie Burnop, jburnop@brasscitycharter.org  

3RD-GRADE TEACHERS

Lori Corbett, lcorbett@brasscitycharter.org 

Christina Cruz, ccruzireland@brasscitycharter.org

4TH-GRADE TEACHERS

Jessica Zenowitz, jzenowitz@brasscitycharter.org

Mary Machado, mmachado@brasscitycharter.org

Becca Caravello, bcaravello@brasscitycharter.org

5TH-GRADE TEACHERS

Elizabeth Della Ratta, edellaratta@brasscitycharter.org

Jodi Paper, jpaper@brasscitycharter.org

ART 

Kelly Richnavsky, krichnavsky@brasscitycharter.org 

PHYSICAL EDUCATION 

Kenneth Engelhard,  kengelhard@brasscitycharter.org

MUSIC

Tina Hadari, thadari@brasscitycharter.org

Netta Hadari

Raylene Goff (intern)

SCIENCE 

Courtney Bauknecht, cbauknecht@brasscitycharter.org

TECHNOLOGY

Marissa Morin

INTERVENTION TEAM

Erica Pandolfi

Amber Armack

Annette Cassullo

BUILDING SUBSTITUTE

Frances Barrett

Genaya Preston (Intern)

Special Education Services and the School Nurse are provided by the City of Waterbury